sewing · tote bag

A break

I like making things.  Just because, really.  So, while I’m still plugging away at other things, I took a break and finished one piece and made something completely new just because I had some cute fabric in my stash.

 This first bit is, obviously, a shirt.  I love sewing for my daughter and she picked out this fabric ages ago.  I’d cut all of it out, but hadn’t stitched it up yet.  Then came the great sewing room clean out and, in an effort to get my act together, I decided I’d finish things I’d started.  This is on of those things.  My sweetie loves it!  It’s super light weight and very comfy in the heat.

 Yesterday, I made this bag.  I don’t know…it’s just seemed like the right thing to do.  I’ve had this scrap of Fancy Nancy fabric forever and, combined with some pink lining, I think it looks pretty cute.  The straps are a bit shorter than I’d like, mostly because I ran out of fabric, but I’m please with it.  It has an exterior and interior pocket for holding pens, small notebooks or a phone.

Though I might not like the length of the straps, looks like it’s a good fit for my baby!  She got a kick out of the Fancy Nancy-ness of it all.  It does look pretty cute on her, if I do say so myself.  🙂

Leave a comment